To search for a current CEOAS Teaching and Research Faculty member, simply type the first few letters of their last name and click the "Apply" button. For former faculty, see Emeritus and Retired Faculty. For all other CEOAS people, see Directory. Research interests in brief are listed for most faculty members.

Andrea Allan
Senior Instructor I
Phone: 541-737-3427
andrea.allan@oregonstate.edu

Large-scale atmospheric circulation and dynamics, present and future climatology, and global and regional climate modeling and statistical analysis


Andrew Barnard
Associate Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-4635
barnaran@oregonstate.edu

Jack Barth
Executive Director of the Marine Studies Initiative (MSI) and Professor
Phone: 541-737-1607
jack.barth@oregonstate.edu

Coastal ocean dynamics, coastal marine ecosystems, hypoxia, inner continental shelf dynamics


Tamara Baumberger
Assistant Professor (Senior Research)
baumbert@oregonstate.edu

 The gas chemistry of hydrothermal vents and methane seeps with a special interest into the carbon cycle and noble gas chemistry


Laurence (Larry) Becker
Professor / Director of Environmental Sciences Undergraduate Program
Phone: 541-737-9504
laurence.becker@oregonstate.edu

Rural livelihoods, food security, and agricultural policy in the global South, with a focus on Africa


Lorene Yokoyama (Laurie) Becker
Senior Instructor II
Phone: 541-737-6993
lorene.yokoyama-becker@oregonstate.edu

Sustainability and Resilience in Land Use Planning, Conservation GIS, Public Participation GIS, and Biomimicry


Kim Bernard
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-9337
kim.bernard@oregonstate.edu

Polar zooplankton ecology


Sherman Bloomer
Sherman Bloomer
AVP Budget & Resource Planning
Phone: 541-737-3877
sherman.bloomer@oregonstate.edu

Rene Boiteau
Rene Boiteau
Assistant Profesor
Phone: 541-737-7750
rene.boiteau@oregonstate.edu

Organic biogeochemistry, mass, spectrometry, trace metal cycling


Ed Brook
Ed Brook
Distinguished Professor of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences
Phone: 541-737-8197
edward.brook@oregonstate.edu

Paleoclimatology, geochemistry, ice core trace gas records, cosmogenic isotopes, extraterrestrial dust


Christo Buizert
Christo Buizert
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-1572
christo.buizert@oregonstate.edu

Paleoclimate, ice cores, abrupt climate change, firn processes


Michael Campana
Michael Campana
Professor
Phone: 541-602-4085
aquadoc@oregonstate.edu

Water resources management; water resources in developing regions


Lorenzo Ciannelli
Lorenzo Ciannelli
Professor
Phone: 541-737-3142
lorenzo.ciannelli@oregonstate.edu

Fisheries oceanography, spatial ecology, fish early life stages, statistical analysis of catch and survey data


Peter Clark
Peter Clark
University Distinguished Professor of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences
Phone: 541-737-1247
peter.clark@oregonstate.edu

Dynamics of glaciers and ice sheets, sea level change, paleoclimatology, abrupt climate change


Rick Colwell
Frederick (Rick) Colwell
Professor
Phone: 541-737-5220
rick.colwell@oregonstate.edu

Microbial ecology, subsurface microbiology, geomicrobiology


Robert (Bob) Cowen
Director, Hatfield Marine Science Center
Phone: 541-867-0211
robert.cowen@oregonstate.edu

JC Creveling
Jessica (JC) Creveling
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-2112
jessica.creveling@oregonstate.edu

Geology, Earth history, sedimentology, stratigraphy, sea-level change


Byron Crump
Professor and Program Head for Ocean Science
Phone: 541-737-4369
byron.crump@oregonstate.edu

Aquatic microbial ecology in marine, estuarine and freshwater ecosystems


Lynette de Silva
Lynette de Silva
Water Conflict Mgt. Director; Senior Instructor I
Phone: 541-737-7013
lynette.desilva@oregonstate.edu

Water conflict management, integrated watershed management


Shan de Silva
Shanaka de Silva
Professor
Phone: 541-737-1212
shanaka.desilva@oregonstate.edu

Volcanology, Igneous Petrology, Aeolian geomorphology,


Simon de Szoeke
Simon de Szoeke
Professor
Phone: 541-737-8391
simon.deszoeke@oregonstate.edu

Atmosphere-ocean interaction, stratiform clouds, tropical meteorology


Ed Dever
Edward Dever
Professor
Phone: 541-737-2749
edward.dever@oregonstate.edu

Cross-shelf exchange processes, analysis and prediction of Lagrangian transport, air-sea interaction


Emily Eidam
Assistant Professor
emily.eidam@oregonstate.edu

Sediment transport processes and rates in fluvial, coastal, and continental shelf systems, as well as event-scale to centennial-scale sediment deposition


Kelsey Emard

Land use and livelihood change, resource access, Latin America.


Jennifer Fehrenbacher
Jennifer Fehrenbacher
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-6285
jennifer.fehrenbacher@oregonstate.edu

Trace element and stable isotope geochemistry, biomineralization, and marine biology


Melanie Fewings
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-2270
melanie.fewings@oregonstate.edu

Observational coastal physical oceanography and meteorology


Erica Fleishman
Director of the Oregon Climate Change Research Institute and Professor
Phone: 541-737-5694
erica.fleishman@oregonstate.edu

Biogeography, conservation, ecological responses to climate and land-use change


Jonathan Fram
Jonathan Fram
Associate Professor (Senior Research), OOI Endurance Array Project Manager
Phone: 541-737-0019
jonathan.fram@oregonstate.edu

Chris Goldfinger
Chris Goldfinger
Professor
Phone: 541-737-2066
chris.goldfinger@oregonstate.edu

Marine geology, geophysics, paleoseismology, subduction earthquakes, accretion and erosion of active margins


Miguel Goñi
Professor
Phone: 541-737-0578
miguel.goni@oregonstate.edu

Cycling of natural organic matter in the earth's surface, mainly in aquatic environments


Matthew Goslin
Instructor
Phone: 541-750-7356
matthew.goslin@oregonstate.edu

Hannah Gosnell
Hannah Gosnell
Professor
Phone: 541-737-1222
hannah.gosnell@oregonstate.edu

Drivers and consequences of rural land use change; water resource policy, management and law; environmental governance; transformations to sustainability


Roy Haggerty
Roy Haggerty
Dean of the College of Science and Professor
Phone: 541-737-3886
roy.haggerty@oregonstate.edu

Ground water-surface water interactions, flow and transport in surface and ground water, nutrient transport, modeling, hyporheic exchange, heat transport in streams


Burke Hales
Burke Hales
Professor
Phone: 541-737-8121
burke.hales@oregonstate.edu

Coastal ocean carbon cycles, ocean acidification, measurement and experimental manipulation technology


Brian Haley
Brian Haley
Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-2649
brian.haley@oregonstate.edu

Plasma spectrometry


Michael Harte
Professor and Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs
Phone: 541-737-0452
michael.harte@oregonstate.edu

Marine geography, natural resource management and planning


Demian Hommel
Demian Hommel
Senior Instructor II
Phone: 541-737-5070
hommeld@oregonstate.edu

Human dimensions of global change; environmental security and resource conflicts; political ecology; risk; people-reef interactions; climate justice; pedagogy and technology


Kenneth Hughes
Assistant Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-2990
kenneth.hughes@oregonstate.edu

Jenny Hutchings
Jennifer (Jenny) Hutchings
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-4453
jennifer.hutchings@oregonstate.edu

Sea ice dynamics and mechanics


Julia Jones
Julia Jones
Distinguished Professor and Program Head for Geography
Phone: 541-737-1224
julia.jones@oregonstate.edu

Land use, climate change and disturbance effects on hydrology, geomorphology, water quality, spatio-temporal statistics


Lauren (Laurie) Juranek
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-2368
laurie.juranek@oregonstate.edu

Dissolved gases, isotope biogeochemistry, marine biological pump, and marine carbon cycle


Maria Kavanaugh
Maria Kavanaugh
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-8009
maria.kavanaugh@oregonstate.edu

Seascape ecology, remote sensing, global change


Randy Keller
Randall (Randy) Keller
Instructor
Phone: 541-737-7648
randall.keller@oregonstate.edu

Marine geology, igneous geochemistry


Robert Kennedy
Robert Kennedy
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-6332
robert.kennedy@oregonstate.edu

Satellite remote sensing using time series imagery, pattern and processes of landscape change, "Landtrendr"


Adam Kent
Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Programs and Faculty Advancement
Phone: 541-737-1205
adam.kent@oregonstate.edu

High temperature geochemistry, igneous petrology, In-situ elemental and isotopic analysis


Anthony Koppers
Professor
Phone: 541-737-5425
anthony.koppers@oregonstate.edu

Isotope geochemistry of hotspot volcanism, plate tectonic theory, mantle geodynamics


Mike Kosro
P. Michael (Mike) Kosro
Professor
Phone: 541-737-3079
mike.kosro@oregonstate.edu

Coastal oceanography, shelf/deep-sea exchange processes, remote sensing, ocean acoustics, ocean circulation


 Stephen Lancaster
Stephen Lancaster
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-9258
stephen.lancaster@oregonstate.edu

Fluvial geomorphology, hydrology


Jim Lerczak
Jim Lerczak
Professor
Phone: 541-737-6128
jim.lerczak@oregonstate.edu

Coastal physical oceanography


Ricardo Letelier
Ricardo Letelier
Professor
Phone: 541-737-3890
ricardo.letelier@oregonstate.edu

Marine pelagic microorganisms, biogeochemical cycles, nitrogen fixation, photosynthesis, chlorophyll passive (solar-induced) fluorescence


Mitch Lyle
Mitchell Lyle
Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-3427
mitch.lyle@oregonstate.edu

Miocene equatorial Pacific paleoproductivity, ocean carbon cycling, geochemical tracers, seismic stratigraphy and pelagic sedimentation


Roberta Marinelli
Professor (currently on leave)
Phone: 541-737-5195
roberta.marinelli@oregonstate.edu

Ecology and biogeochemistry of the seafloor


Ricardo Matano
Ricardo Matano
Professor
Phone: 541-737-2212
ricardo.matano@oregonstate.edu

Large-scale ocean circulation, the dynamics of western boundary currents, ocean modeling, geophysical fluid dynamics. the circulation in the Southern Ocean


Haruyoshi Matsumoto
Haruyoshi Matsumoto
Associate Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-867-0272
haru.matsumoto@oregonstate.edu

Jennifer McKay
Jennifer McKay
Assistant Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-1203
jennifer.mckay@oregonstate.edu

Stable isotopes & trace metals in paleoceanography *Not advising students


Andrew Meigs
Andrew Meigs
Professor
Phone: 541-737-1214
andrew.meigs@oregonstate.edu

Active tectonics, tectonic geomorphology, structural geology


David Mellinger
David Mellinger
Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-867-0372
david.mellinger@oregonstate.edu

Comparative planetology, astrogeology, impact cratering dynamics, planet modifying catastrophes and extinction events, the intersections of science and the arts


Alan Mix
Alan Mix
Distinguished Professor of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences
Phone: 541-737-5212
alan.mix@oregonstate.edu

Paleoceanography and paleoclimatology, micropaleontology, isotope geochemistry


Philip Mote
Philip Mote
Professor, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School
Phone: 541-737-1458
philip.mote@oregonstate.edu

Regional climate modeling, the influence of climate change on western US snowpack


Park Muhonda
Geography Instructor
park.muhonda@oregonstate.edu

John Nabelek
John Nabelek
Professor
Phone: 541-737-2757
john.nabelek@oregonstate.edu

Seismology, faulting processes, tectonics of mid-ocean ridges


Jonathan Nash
Jonathan Nash
Professor
Phone: 541-737-4573
jonathan.nash@oregonstate.edu

Physics of turbulence and ocean mixing


Peder Nelson
Peder Nelson
Senior Instructor I / Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
peder.nelson@oregonstate.edu

Remote sensing, GIS, automated visualization and analysis tools


Larry O'Neill
Larry O'Neill
Associate Professor and Director of Oregon Climate Services
Phone: 541-737-6396
larry.oneill@oregonstate.edu

Air-sea interactions, satellite meteorology and oceanography, atmospheric boundary layer and ocean mixed layer dynamics


Tuba Ozkan-Haller
Interim Dean, Professor, Associate Vice President for Research Administration & Development
Phone: 541-737-9170
tuba.ozkan-haller@oregonstate.edu

Near-shore circulation modeling, data assimilation in the near-shore region, time-series analysis techniques


Brodie Pearson
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-3629
brodie.pearson@oregonstate.edu

Physics of mixing processes (i.e. turbulence) in the ocean


Erin Pettit
Professor
Phone: 541-737-0942
pettiter@oregonstate.edu

Glacier and ice sheet dynamics, ice/ocean interactions, ice rheology and deformation, ice-core climate history


Mark Raleigh
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-3497
raleigma@oregonstate.edu

Snow, mountain, and forest hydrology; remote sensing; numerical modeling; data assimilation; machine learning; streamflow forecasting; hydroclimate interactions, extremes, disturbance, and change


Clare Reimers
Distinguished Professor of Ocean Ecology and Biogeochemistry
Phone: 541-737-2426
clare.reimers@oregonstate.edu

Benthic biogeochemistry; chemical sensor development; redox conditions in natural waters and sediments, carbonate chemistry


Peter Ruggiero
Peter Ruggiero
Professor
Phone: 541-737-1239
peter.ruggiero@oregonstate.edu

Coastal geomorphology, coastal hazards, nearshore processes


David Rupp
Associate Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-0558
david.rupp@oregonstate.edu

Climate variability, anthropogenic influences on climate and hydrology, streamflow processes


Roger Samelson
Roger Samelson
Professor
Phone: 541-737-4752
roger.samelson@oregonstate.edu

Fluid dynamics and thermodynamics of the ocean and atmosphere, coastal and arctic meteorology, nonlinear dynamics of geophysical fluids


Mary Santelmann
Mary Santelmann
Professor; Director, Water Resources Graduate Program
Phone: 541-737-1215
mary.santelmann@oregonstate.edu

Wetlands ecology, biogeography


Climate change, ocean biogeochemical cycles, interactions in the climate system, paleoclimate, ocean circulation


Adam Schultz
Adam Schultz
Professor
Phone: 541-737-9832
adam.schultz@oregonstate.edu

Geophysical imaging to study the structure and composition of Earth’s interior


Nature of structure and strain along major faults making up the southern California plate boundary


Kipp Shearman
Kipp Shearman
Professor
Phone: 541-737-1866
kipp.shearman@oregonstate.edu

Physical processes in coastal ocean, Autonomous Underwater Vehicles (AUVs)


Karen Shell
Karen Shell
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-0980
karen.shell@oregonstate.edu

Climate dynamics, general circulation of the atmosphere, interactions between radiative transfer and the dynamics of the atmosphere and ocean, climate modeling


Alyssa Shiel
Alyssa Shiel
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-5209
alyssa.shiel@oregonstate.edu

Geochemical tracer development, transport and fate of metals/metalloids


Emily Shroyer
Emily Shroyer
Professor
Phone: 541-737-1298
emily.shroyer@oregonstate.edu

Small-scale ocean dynamics, such as turbulent mixing, internal gravity waves, and upper ocean processes


Nick Siler
Nicholas (Nick) Siler
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-8633
nick.siler@oregonstate.edu

Mountain precipitation and hydrology, global hydrologic cycle, regional climate change and variability


Eric Skyllingstad
Eric Skyllingstad
Professor
Phone: 541-737-5697
eric.skyllingstad@oregonstate.edu

Upper ocean turbulence, mesoscale coastal internal waves, ocean-atmosphere coupling


Bill Smyth
William (Bill) Smyth
Professor
Phone: 541-737-3029
bill.smyth@oregonstate.edu

Turbulence in geophysical flows, thermohaline processes, nonlinear waves


Yvette Spitz
Professor
Phone: 541-737-3227
yvette.spitz@oregonstate.edu

The main pathways in marine ecosystems, coupled physical-biological models


Ben Stanley
Instructor
Phone: 541-737-1210
stanlebe@oregonstate.edu

Sediment magnetism, stratigraphy, paleoclimatology


Pamela Sullivan
Associate Professor, Dole Chair in Geosciences
Phone: 541-737-3625
pamela.sullivan@oregonstate.edu

Ecohydrology; interactions of climate, vegetation and geology


Frank Tepley
Professor, Geology Program Director
Phone: 541-737-9350
frank.tepley@oregonstate.edu

Igneous petrology, isotope geochemistry, electron probe microscopy


Andrew Thurber
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-4500
andrew.thurber@oregonstate.edu

Microbe-metazoan Interactions, deep-sea and polar ecology, food web dynamics, deep-sea habitats, annelid ecology


Jenna Tilt
Assistant Professor (Senior Research), Senior Instructor I
Phone: 541-737-1232
tiltj@oregonstate.edu

Community resilience to chronic and acute hazards; equitable adaptations for hazard mitigation; wildland-urban interface social vulnerability and resilience; food-energy-water nexus decision-making; green infrastructure; stakeholder engagement and outreach


Jamon Van Den Hoek
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-1229


Maureen (Mo) Walczak
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-3037
mo.walczak@oregonstate.edu

Paleoceanography, ocean circulation, ocean-glacier interactions


George Waldbusser
Professor
Phone: 541-737-8964
george.waldbusser@oregonstate.edu

Ocean acidification effects on bivalves, benthic ecology and sediment biogeochemistry, tidal flat ecology


Kuuipo Walsh
GIScience Program Director, Senior Instructor I
Phone: 541-737-3795
kuuipo.walsh@oregonstate.edu

GIS, metadata, digital libraries and coastal atlases


James Watson
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-2519
james.watson@oregonstate.edu

Complex adaptive systems, environmental science, social-ecological systems, quantitative analyses, seascape ecology, marine spatial planning, coastal vulnerability


Justin Wettstein
Justin Wettstein
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-5177
justin.wettstein@oregonstate.edu

Large-scale and long-term climate and atmospheric dynamics, climate variability and change, climate impacts and responses in natural and human-managed systems


Greg Wilson
Greg Wilson
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-4915
greg.wilson@oregonstate.edu

Physics of the nearshore coastal ocean including waves, currents, and sediment transport.


Aaron Wolf
Aaron Wolf
Professor
Phone: 541-737-2722
aaron.wolf@oregonstate.edu

Transboundary water conflicts and conflict resolution


David Wrathall
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-8051
david.wrathall@oregonstate.edu

Climate hazards, climate change adaptation, social vulnerability, migration, and political ecology


Kaplan Yalcin
Assistant Dean for Academic Programs
Phone: 541-737-1230
kaplan.yalcin@oregonstate.edu

Distance and online education, paleoclimatology


Edward (Ed) Zaron
Associate Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-8273
edward.d.zaron@oregonstate.edu

Ocean modeling and data assimilation, satellite altimetry, and geophysical fluid dynamics