To search for a current CEOAS Teaching and Research Faculty member, simply type the first few letters of their last name and click the "Apply" button. For former faculty, see Emeritus Faculty. For all other CEOAS people, see Directory. Research interests in brief are listed for most faculty members.


Andrea Allan
Senior Instructor I and Program Director of the Climate Science Program
Phone: 541-737-3407
andrea.allan@oregonstate.edu

Large-scale atmospheric circulation and dynamics, present and future climatology, and global and regional climate modeling and statistical analysis



Andrew Barnard
Associate Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-4635
barnaran@oregonstate.edu


Jack Barth
Executive Director of the Marine Studies Initiative (MSI) and Professor
Phone: 541-737-1607
jack.barth@oregonstate.edu

Coastal ocean dynamics, coastal marine ecosystems, hypoxia, inner continental shelf dynamics



Tamara Baumberger
Assistant Professor (Senior Research)
baumbert@oregonstate.edu

 The gas chemistry of hydrothermal vents and methane seeps with a special interest into the carbon cycle and noble gas chemistry



Laurence (Larry) Becker
Professor / Director of Environmental Sciences Undergraduate Program
Phone: 541-737-9504
laurence.becker@oregonstate.edu

Rural livelihoods, food security, and agricultural policy in the global South, with a focus on Africa



Lorene Yokoyama (Laurie) Becker
Senior Instructor II
Phone: 541-737-6993
lorene.yokoyama-becker@oregonstate.edu

Sustainability and Resilience in Land Use Planning, Conservation GIS, Public Participation GIS, and Biomimicry



Kim Bernard
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-9337
kim.bernard@oregonstate.edu

Polar zooplankton ecology


Sherman Bloomer

Sherman Bloomer
AVP Budget & Resource Planning
Phone: 541-737-3877
sherman.bloomer@oregonstate.edu

Ed Brook

Ed Brook
Distinguished Professor of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences
Phone: 541-737-8197
edward.brook@oregonstate.edu

Paleoclimatology, geochemistry, ice core trace gas records, cosmogenic isotopes, extraterrestrial dust



Kristen Buck
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-7401
kristen.buck@oregonstate.edu

Biogeochemical cycling of trace metals in marine ecosystems, with particular emphasis on the role of metal-binding ligands in the cycling of bioactive trace elements like iron and copper.


Christo Buizert

Christo Buizert
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-1572
christo.buizert@oregonstate.edu

Paleoclimate, ice cores, abrupt climate change, firn processes


Lorenzo Ciannelli

Lorenzo Ciannelli
Professor
Phone: 541-737-3142
lorenzo.ciannelli@oregonstate.edu

Fisheries oceanography, spatial ecology, fish early life stages, statistical analysis of catch and survey data


Peter Clark

Peter Clark
University Distinguished Professor of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences
Phone: 541-737-1247
peter.clark@oregonstate.edu

Dynamics of glaciers and ice sheets, sea level change, paleoclimatology, abrupt climate change



Frederick (Rick) Colwell
Professor
Phone: 541-737-5220
rick.colwell@oregonstate.edu

Microbial ecology, subsurface microbiology, geomicrobiology



Robert (Bob) Cowen
Director, Hatfield Marine Science Center
Phone: 541-867-0211
robert.cowen@oregonstate.edu

JC Creveling

Jessica (JC) Creveling
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-2112
jessica.creveling@oregonstate.edu

Geology, Earth history, sedimentology, stratigraphy, sea-level change



Byron Crump
Professor and Program Head for Oceanography
Phone: 541-737-4369
byron.crump@oregonstate.edu

Aquatic microbial ecology in marine, estuarine and freshwater ecosystems


Small to mesoscale ocean processes such as turbulence, flows over topography, internal waves and eddies



Lynette de Silva
Water Conflict Mgt. Director; Senior Instructor II
Phone: 541-737-7013
lynette.desilva@oregonstate.edu

Water conflict management, integrated watershed management



Shanaka de Silva
Professor
Phone: 541-737-1212
shanaka.desilva@oregonstate.edu

Volcanology, Igneous Petrology, Aeolian geomorphology,


Simon de Szoeke

Simon de Szoeke
Professor
Phone: 541-737-8391
simon.deszoeke@oregonstate.edu

Atmosphere-ocean interaction, stratiform clouds, tropical meteorology



Edward Dever
Professor
Phone: 541-737-2749
edward.dever@oregonstate.edu

Cross-shelf exchange processes, analysis and prediction of Lagrangian transport, air-sea interaction



Emily Eidam
Assistant Professor
emily.eidam@oregonstate.edu

Sediment transport processes and rates in fluvial, coastal, and continental shelf systems, as well as event-scale to centennial-scale sediment deposition



Kelsey Emard
Assistant Professor (Sr Res) and Instructor
kelsey.emard@oregonstate.edu

Jennifer Fehrenbacher

Jennifer Fehrenbacher
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-6285
jennifer.fehrenbacher@oregonstate.edu

Trace element and stable isotope geochemistry, biomineralization, and marine biology



Melanie Fewings
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-2270
melanie.fewings@oregonstate.edu

Observational coastal physical oceanography and meteorology



Erica Fleishman
Director of the Oregon Climate Change Research Institute and Professor
Phone: 541-737-5694
erica.fleishman@oregonstate.edu

Biogeography, conservation, ecological responses to climate and land-use change



Jonathan Fram
Associate Professor (Senior Research), OOI Endurance Array Project Manager
Phone: 541-737-0019
jonathan.fram@oregonstate.edu

Small-scale physical-biological interactions in the ocean, especially their implications for transport of plankton or sediment



Miguel Goñi
Professor
Phone: 541-737-0578
miguel.goni@oregonstate.edu

Cycling of natural organic matter in the earth's surface, mainly in aquatic environments



Matthew Goslin
Instructor
Phone: 541-750-7356
matthew.goslin@oregonstate.edu


Hannah Gosnell
Professor
Phone: 541-737-1222
hannah.gosnell@oregonstate.edu

Transformations to sustainability; biodiversity conservation; regenerative agriculture; environmental governance; water resource policy, management and law; drivers and consequences of rural land use change


Burke Hales

Burke Hales
Professor
Phone: 541-737-8121
burke.hales@oregonstate.edu

Coastal ocean carbon cycles, ocean acidification, measurement and experimental manipulation technology


Brian Haley

Brian Haley
Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-2649
brian.haley@oregonstate.edu

Plasma spectrometry



Michael Harte
Professor and Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs
Phone: 541-737-0452
michael.harte@oregonstate.edu

Marine geography, natural resource management and planning


Demian Hommel

Demian Hommel
Senior Instructor II
Phone: 541-737-5070
hommeld@oregonstate.edu

Human dimensions of global change; environmental security and resource conflicts; political ecology; risk; people-reef interactions; climate justice; pedagogy and technology



Kenneth Hughes
Assistant Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-2990
kenneth.hughes@oregonstate.edu


Jennifer (Jenny) Hutchings
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-4453
jennifer.hutchings@oregonstate.edu

Sea ice dynamics and mechanics


Atmospheric/climate science with a focus on understanding and modeling tropical convection and clouds.



Julia Jones
Distinguished Professor and Program Head for Geography
Phone: 541-737-1224
julia.jones@oregonstate.edu

Land use, climate change and disturbance effects on hydrology, geomorphology, water quality, spatio-temporal statistics



Lauren (Laurie) Juranek
Professor
Phone: 541-737-2368
laurie.juranek@oregonstate.edu

Dissolved gases, isotope biogeochemistry, marine biological pump, and marine carbon cycle


Maria Kavanaugh

Maria Kavanaugh
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-8009
maria.kavanaugh@oregonstate.edu

Seascape ecology, remote sensing, global change


Randy Keller

Randall (Randy) Keller
Instructor
Phone: 541-737-7648
randall.keller@oregonstate.edu

Marine geology, igneous geochemistry



Robert Kennedy
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-6332
robert.kennedy@oregonstate.edu

Satellite remote sensing using time series imagery, pattern and processes of landscape change, "Landtrendr"


Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and cartography



Adam Kent
Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Programs and Faculty Advancement
Phone: 541-737-1205
adam.kent@oregonstate.edu

High temperature geochemistry, igneous petrology, In-situ elemental and isotopic analysis



Anthony Koppers
Professor
Phone: 541-737-5425
anthony.koppers@oregonstate.edu

Isotope geochemistry of hotspot volcanism, plate tectonic theory, mantle geodynamics


Mike Kosro

P. Michael (Mike) Kosro
Professor
Phone: 541-737-3079
mike.kosro@oregonstate.edu

Coastal oceanography, shelf/deep-sea exchange processes, remote sensing, ocean acoustics, ocean circulation


 Stephen Lancaster

Stephen Lancaster
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-9258
stephen.lancaster@oregonstate.edu

Fluvial geomorphology, hydrology


The impacts of abrupt and complex bathymetry across scales on the ecology and behavior of marine animals with a special focus on the deep sea.



Jim Lerczak
Professor and Associate Dean for Research
Phone: 541-737-6128
jim.lerczak@oregonstate.edu

Coastal physical oceanography


Ricardo Letelier

Ricardo Letelier
Professor
Phone: 541-737-3890
ricardo.letelier@oregonstate.edu

Marine pelagic microorganisms, biogeochemical cycles, nitrogen fixation, photosynthesis, chlorophyll passive (solar-induced) fluorescence


Mitch Lyle

Mitchell Lyle
Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-3427
mitch.lyle@oregonstate.edu

Miocene equatorial Pacific paleoproductivity, ocean carbon cycling, geochemical tracers, seismic stratigraphy and pelagic sedimentation


Ecology and biogeochemistry of the seafloor


tropical chemical ecology, plant-insect interactions, reforestation, savanna ecology


Ricardo Matano

Ricardo Matano
Professor
Phone: 541-737-2212
ricardo.matano@oregonstate.edu

Large-scale ocean circulation, the dynamics of western boundary currents, ocean modeling, geophysical fluid dynamics. the circulation in the Southern Ocean


Haruyoshi Matsumoto

Haruyoshi Matsumoto
Associate Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-867-0272
haru.matsumoto@oregonstate.edu


Tyler McFadden
Environmental Sciences Instructor and Program Coordinator
Phone: 541-737-9164
tyler.mcfadden@oregonstate.edu

Biodiversity responses to land use and climate change; avian ecology; species interactions



Karen McLeod
Director, Marine Resource Management Program
Phone: 541-737-1339
karen.mcleod@oregonstate.edu

Science and society; marine ecology; leadership development; science communication & strategic engagement; transdisciplinarity


Using metabolomics and other techniques to understand the cycling of carbon by marine microbes


Andrew Meigs

Andrew Meigs
Professor
Phone: 541-737-1214
andrew.meigs@oregonstate.edu

Active tectonics, tectonic geomorphology, structural geology


David Mellinger

David Mellinger
Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-867-0372
david.mellinger@oregonstate.edu

Philip Mote

Philip Mote
Professor, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School
Phone: 541-737-1458
philip.mote@oregonstate.edu

Regional climate modeling, the influence of climate change on western US snowpack. No longer advising Ph.D. students.



Park Muhonda
Geography Instructor
park.muhonda@oregonstate.edu


Jonathan Nash
Professor
Phone: 541-737-4573
jonathan.nash@oregonstate.edu

The physics of turbulence, mixing and other small-scale processes in the ocean and near ice.
We also develop new technologies (like autonomous vehicles and sensor systems) to measure glacier ice melt, internal waves, submesoscale instabilities, and use these observations to better understand ocean dynamics.


Peder Nelson

Peder Nelson
Senior Instructor I / Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
peder.nelson@oregonstate.edu

Remote sensing, GIS, automated visualization and analysis tools


Larry O'Neill

Larry O'Neill
Associate Professor and Director of Oregon Climate Services
Phone: 541-737-6396
larry.oneill@oregonstate.edu

Air-sea interactions, satellite meteorology and oceanography, atmospheric boundary layer and ocean mixed layer dynamics



Tuba Ozkan-Haller
Dean and Professor
Phone: 541-737-9170
tuba.ozkan-haller@oregonstate.edu

Near-shore circulation modeling, data assimilation in the near-shore region, time-series analysis techniques



Brodie Pearson
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-3629
brodie.pearson@oregonstate.edu

Physics of mixing processes (i.e. turbulence) in the ocean



Laura E. R. Peters
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-8985
peterlau@oregonstate.edu

Disasters, conflict resolution and peacebuilding, community health, social justice and inclusion, humanitarian and conflict-affected contexts



Erin Pettit
Professor
Phone: 541-737-0942
pettiter@oregonstate.edu

Glacier and ice sheet dynamics, ice/ocean interactions, ice rheology and deformation, ice-core climate history



Mark Raleigh
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-3497
raleigma@oregonstate.edu

Snow, mountain, and forest hydrology; remote sensing; numerical modeling; data assimilation; machine learning; streamflow forecasting; hydroclimate interactions, extremes, disturbance, and change



Clare Reimers
Distinguished Professor of Ocean Ecology and Biogeochemistry
Phone: 541-737-2426
clare.reimers@oregonstate.edu

Benthic biogeochemistry; chemical sensor development; redox conditions in natural waters and sediments, carbonate chemistry


Peter Ruggiero

Peter Ruggiero
Professor
Phone: 541-737-1239
peter.ruggiero@oregonstate.edu

Coastal geomorphology, coastal hazards, nearshore processes



David Rupp
Associate Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-0558
david.rupp@oregonstate.edu

Climate variability, anthropogenic influences on climate and hydrology, streamflow processes


Roger Samelson

Roger Samelson
Professor
Phone: 541-737-4752
roger.samelson@oregonstate.edu

Fluid dynamics and thermodynamics of the ocean and atmosphere, coastal and arctic meteorology, nonlinear dynamics of geophysical fluids



Mary Santelmann
Professor; Director, Water Resources Graduate Program
Phone: 541-737-1215
mary.santelmann@oregonstate.edu

Wetlands ecology, biogeography


Climate change, ocean biogeochemical cycles, interactions in the climate system, paleoclimate, ocean circulation


Adam Schultz

Adam Schultz
Professor
Phone: 541-737-9832
adam.schultz@oregonstate.edu

Geophysical imaging to study the structure and composition of Earth’s interior


Nature of structure and strain along major faults making up the southern California plate boundary



Kipp Shearman
Professor
Phone: 541-737-1866
kipp.shearman@oregonstate.edu

Physical processes in coastal ocean, Autonomous Underwater Vehicles (AUVs)



Karen Shell
Professor of Practice and Climate Science Program Head
Phone: 541-737-0980
karen.shell@oregonstate.edu

Climate dynamics, general circulation of the atmosphere, interactions between radiative transfer and the dynamics of the atmosphere and ocean, climate modeling



Alyssa Shiel (she/her)
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-5209
alyssa.shiel@oregonstate.edu

Geochemical tracer development, transport and fate of metals/metalloids


Emily Shroyer

Emily Shroyer
Professor
Phone: 541-737-1298
emily.shroyer@oregonstate.edu

Small-scale ocean dynamics, such as turbulent mixing, internal gravity waves, and upper ocean processes


Nick Siler

Nicholas (Nick) Siler
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-8633
nick.siler@oregonstate.edu

Mountain precipitation and hydrology, global hydrologic cycle, regional climate change and variability


Eric Skyllingstad

Eric Skyllingstad
Professor
Phone: 541-737-5697
eric.skyllingstad@oregonstate.edu

Upper ocean turbulence, mesoscale coastal internal waves, ocean-atmosphere coupling


Bill Smyth

William (Bill) Smyth
Professor
Phone: 541-737-3029
bill.smyth@oregonstate.edu

Turbulence in geophysical flows, thermohaline processes, nonlinear waves


Low-temperature thermochronology, field geology, and applications of remote sensing date to geology mapping



Yvette Spitz
Professor
Phone: 541-737-3227
yvette.spitz@oregonstate.edu

The main pathways in marine ecosystems, coupled physical-biological models


Sediment magnetism, stratigraphy, paleoclimatology



Pamela Sullivan
Associate Professor, Dole Chair in Geosciences
Phone: 541-737-3625
pamela.sullivan@oregonstate.edu

Ecohydrology; interactions of climate, vegetation and geology



Frank Tepley
Professor, Geology Program Director
Phone: 541-737-9350
frank.tepley@oregonstate.edu

Igneous petrology, isotope geochemistry, electron probe microscopy


Critical GIS, Critical Cartography, Political Ecology, and geocomputation



Andrew Thurber
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-4500
andrew.thurber@oregonstate.edu

Microbe-metazoan Interactions, deep-sea and polar ecology, food web dynamics, deep-sea habitats, annelid ecology



Jenna Tilt
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-1232
tiltj@oregonstate.edu

Community resilience to chronic and acute hazards; equitable adaptations for hazard mitigation; wildland-urban interface social vulnerability and resilience; food-energy-water nexus decision-making; green infrastructure; stakeholder engagement and outreach



Jamon Van Den Hoek
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-1229



Maureen (Mo) Walczak
Assistant Professor
Phone: 541-737-3037
mo.walczak@oregonstate.edu

Paleoceanography, ocean circulation, ocean-glacier interactions



George Waldbusser
Professor
Phone: 541-737-8964
george.waldbusser@oregonstate.edu

Ocean acidification effects on bivalves, benthic ecology and sediment biogeochemistry, tidal flat ecology



Kuuipo Walsh
GIScience Program Director, Senior Instructor I
Phone: 541-737-3795
kuuipo.walsh@oregonstate.edu

GIS, metadata, digital libraries and coastal atlases



James Watson
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-2519
james.watson@oregonstate.edu

Complex adaptive systems, environmental science, social-ecological systems, quantitative analyses, seascape ecology, marine spatial planning, coastal vulnerability



Kathleen Wendt
Assistant Professor (Senior Research)
kathleen.wendt@oregonstate.edu

Using cave formations and polar ice cores to study Earth's climate history


Justin Wettstein

Justin Wettstein
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-5177
justin.wettstein@oregonstate.edu

Large-scale and long-term climate and atmospheric dynamics, climate variability and change, climate impacts and responses in natural and human-managed systems


Greg Wilson

Greg Wilson
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-4915
greg.wilson@oregonstate.edu

Physics of the nearshore coastal ocean including waves, currents, and sediment transport.


Aaron Wolf

Aaron Wolf
Professor
Phone: 541-737-2722
aaron.wolf@oregonstate.edu

Transboundary water conflicts and conflict resolution



David Wrathall
Associate Professor
Phone: 541-737-8051
david.wrathall@oregonstate.edu

Climate hazards, climate change adaptation, social vulnerability, migration, and political ecology



Kaplan Yalcin
Assistant Dean for Academic Programs
Phone: 541-737-1230
kaplan.yalcin@oregonstate.edu

Distance and online education, paleoclimatology



Edward (Ed) Zaron
Associate Professor (Senior Research)
Phone: 541-737-8273
edward.d.zaron@oregonstate.edu

Ocean modeling and data assimilation, satellite altimetry, and geophysical fluid dynamics



Seth Zippel
Assistant Professor
zippels@oregonstate.edu

How the ocean and the atmosphere interact using field measurements from a diverse set of regions including estuaries, the open ocean, and the Arctic