Includes CEOAS classified staff, professional faculty, research associates, faculty research assistants, and temporary employees not on other pages.


Mariana Aguirre Nunes
Faculty Research Assistant
aguirmar@oregonstate.edu
Working with Jonathan Fram


Yvan Alleau
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
MGR/RWB 2nd floor RDESC/RCRV, 541-737-3022
yvan.alleau@oregonstate.edu
Working with Clare Reimers


Ean Amon
Power and Data Systems Engineer, PacWave
Strand 370, 541-737-5794
ean.amon@oregonstate.edu
Website: PacWave - Testing Wave Energy for the Future


Eliza Amstutz
Academic Wage Employee
amstutze@oregonstate.edu


Dominique Bachelet
Research Associate
bacheled@oregonstate.edu
Working with Erica Fleishman


Walter Báez
Research Associate
Wilkinson 258
baezw@oregonstate.edu
Working with Shan de Silva


Demian Bailey
Regional Class Research Vessel Project Manager (RCRV-PM)
Burt 297, 541-737-0460
demian.bailey@oregonstate.edu
View Demian Bailey's profile on LinkedIn
Regional Class Research Vessel project
RCRV on Facebook@rcrv_program on Instagram


Asmita Banerjee is now on the Postdocs page.


Phil Barbour
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
Burt 442, 541-737-8273
phil.barbour@oregonstate.edu


Eric Beals
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I
Burt 426, 541-737-4548
eric.beals@oregonstate.edu


Kristin Beem
Marine Science Technical Director
RCRV Project Field Office, Houma, LA
kristin.beem@oregonstate.edu


Kalia Bistolas
Academic Wage Hourly: Research Associate
bistolak@oregonstate.edu
Working with Andrew Thurber


Ian Black
Faculty Research Assistant
blackia@oregonstate.edu


Mia Bradshaw
Courtesy
bradsmia@oregonstate.edu
Working with Kristin Buck


John Buckner
Research Associate
bucknejo@oregonstate.edu
Working with James Watson


Alessandra (Ali) Burgos
Cascadia CoPes Hub Project Manager
Burt 139
alessandra.burgos@oregonstate.edu
Working with Peter Ruggiero


Sidney Bush is now on the Postdocs page


Emily Cahoon
Research Associate
Research Way Building Rm. 100
emily.cahoon@oregonstate.edu
Working with Anthony Koppers


James Caison
Design Specialist, RCRV
james.caison@oregonstate.edu
Working with Daryl Swensen


Brandy Cervantes
Senior Research Associate I, OOI
Burt 106, 541-737-9167
brandy.cervantes@oregonstate.edu
LinkedIn: Brandy Cervantes


Josiah Chan
Bio Science Research Tech 2
chanjosi@oregonstate.edu
Working with Pam Sullivan


Maziet Cheseby
Curator, OSU Marine and Geology Repository
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
Research Way Building Rm. 100
541-737-8210/541-737-2808
maziet.cheseby@oregonstate.edu


Peter Clary
Faculty Research Assistant
Strand 331
clarype@oregonstate.edu
Working with Robert Kennedy


Sean Coleman
Faculty Research Assistant
Burt 293, 541-737-5378
colemase@oregonstate.edu
Working with Jack Barth


John Comar
RCRV Shipyard Representative
Gulf Island Shipyard LLC, Houma Louisiana
Houma, LA Office Phone: 985-850-4372
Mobile: 715-587-5022
john.comar@oregonstate.edu


Matthew Conlin is now on the Postdocs page.


Paula Crews
Biological Sciences Research Technician 1
Working with Erica Fleishman


Peter Davidson
Academic Wage-Hourly: Faculty Research Assistant
davidspe@oregonstate.edu
Working with Anthony Koppers


Katy Davis is now on the Postdocs page.


Russ Desiderio
Academic Wage Appointment, OOI
Ocean Observatory Center, 541-737-0011
russell.desiderio@oregonstate.edu


Christian Dewey is now on the Postdocs page.


Casey Dinsmore
Cyberinfrastructure DevOps Engineer, OOI
casey.dinsmore@oregonstate.edu
Also Linux Administrator at CoSINe IT Services, Division of Arts and Sciences


Nadya Dooley
Biological Sciences Research Technician 1
dooleyn@oregonstate.edu
Working with Erica Fleishman


Scott Durski
Senior Research Associate I
Burt 332C, 541-737-8857
scott.durski@oregonstate.edu


Jenna Epifanio
COLDEX Data Manager
757-386-7775
jenna.epifanio@oregonstate.edu
Working with Ed Brook


Anatoli Erofeev
Research Associate
30th & Western Shops Building 224, 541-737-4656
anatoli.erofeev@oregonstate.edu


Svetlana Erofeeva
Research Associate
Burt 330, 541-737-2991
svetlana.erofeeva@oregonstate.edu
Website: OSU TPXO Tide Models


Christopher Fanshier
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I
fanshiec@oregonstate.edu


Becky Fasth
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I
287 Forestry Sciences Laboratory, 541-750-7325
becky.fasth@oregonstate.edu
Working with Andrew Meigs and Gordon Grant


Benjamin Freiberg
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I
30th & Western Shops Building 224
freiberb@oregonstate.edu
Working with Burke Hales and Mo Walczak


Cara Fritz
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I, Assistant Core Curator
Research Way Building Rm. 100
541-737-8210 / 541-737-2808
cara.fritz@oregonstate.edu
Working with Joe Stoner


Amrapalli Garanaik is now on the Postdocs page.


Kelly George
(she/they)
Faculty Research Assistant
Weniger 508
georgek@oregonstate.edu
Working with Maria Kavanaugh


Ethan Gordon is now on the Postdocs page.


Daniel Heaton
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I
Burt 356, 541-737-9352
daniel.heaton@oregonstate.edu
View Daniel Heaton's profile on LinkedIn
Working with Anthony Koppers


Raelynn Heinitz
Faculty Research Assistant, OOI
heinitzr@oregonstate.edu


Dan Hellin
Deputy Director, PacWave
Strand 370, 541-737-5452
dan.hellin@oregonstate.edu
Website: PacWave - Testing Wave Energy for the Future


Brett Hembrough
Manager of Marine Operations, PacWave
Strand 370, 541-737-9023
brett.hembrough@oregonstate.edu
Working with Burke Hales


Kevin Henry
Laboratory Technician
Wilkinson 007
henryke@oregonstate.edu
Working with Anthony Koppers


Don Hilliard
Fleet Engineer, RCRV
Weniger 573, 541-737-3784 / 707-315-8713
hilliard@oregonstate.edu


Jim Housell
Cyberinfrastructure IT Architect, OOI
jim.housell@oregonstate.edu


Dale Hubbard
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
Western Shops Building 225, 541-230-4035
dale.hubbard@oregonstate.edu


Brittany Hupp is now on the Postdocs page.


Sajna Hussain is now on the Postdocs page.


Suneil Iyer is now on the Postdocs page.


Robert (Jake) Jacobs
Academic Wage Appointment
jacobrob@oregonstate.edu
Working with Larry O'Neill and Seth Zippell


Corinne James
Academic Wage Appointment
Burt 302, 541-737-3015
corinne.james@oregonstate.edu


Karla Jarecke is now on the Postdocs page.


Robert Jarvis
Deputy Shipyard Representative, RCRV
Houma, LA, 985-850-4376
robert.jarvis2@oregonstate.edu


Stephanie Jarvis
Project Assistant, Center for Oldest Ice Exploration (COLDEX)
jarvisst@oregonstate.edu
Working with Ed Brook


Joe Jennings
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I
Weniger 520, 541-737-4365
joe.jennings@oregonstate.edu


Yasury Jimenez
Laboratory Technician 1
jimenezy@oregonstate.edu
Working with Mo Walczak


Jihun Jung
Research Associate
Burt 332D
jihun.jung@oregonstate.edu
Working with Scott Durski


Michael Kalk
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
Wilkinson 006 and 006A, 541-737-1209
michael.kalk@oregonstate.edu


Brian Katz
Faculty Research Assistant
Strand 348
katzbr@oregonstate.edu
Website: Brian G. Katz


Molly Keogh is now on the Postdocs page.


Mandy Kiger
(They/Them)
CMTD Faculty Research Assistant
30th & Western Shops Building 221, Room 202, 541-737-2607
kigera@oregonstate.edu
Working with Ben Russell at the western machine shops


Inchul Kim is now on the Postdocs page.


Kate Kouba
Faculty Research Assistant
Burt 254
kathleen.kouba@oregonstate.edu
Working with Rene Boiteau


Tyler Kukla is now on the Postdocs page.


Tige Kurth
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I
30th & Western Shops Building 221, Room 202, 541-737-5118
tige.kurth@oregonstate.edu
Working for Ben Russell in the Western Ave. shop.
Feature Story: Science behind the scenes


Deanne Lahaie-Noll
Procurement Contract Officer, RCRV
Burt 294, 541-737-1150
deanne.lahaie-noll@oregonstate.edu


Steve Lambert
Faculty Research Assistant, Technician, OOI
Ocean Observing Center, 541-737-0011
steven.lambert@oregonstate.edu

Steve earned his M.S. in Oceanography from Florida State University where he studied turbulent mixing in the Gulf of Mexico. He then worked in the Physical Oceanography Department at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution as an instrument technician in the Arctic. Steve was a Marine Technician at OSU before joining the Ocean Observatories Initiative (OOI) team as a Technician.


Kari Lanphier
Faculty Research Assistant
lanphiek@oregonstate.edu
Working with Becky Fasth


Kerry Latham
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
30th & Western Shops Building 226, 541-737-1170
kerry.latham@oregonstate.edu


Inés Mercedes Leyba is now on the Postdocs page.


Bonan Li is now on the Postdocs page.


Cheng Li
Senior Research Associate I
Weniger 541
cheng.li@oregonstate.edu
Working with Clare Reimers


Xiaohui Liu
Research Associate
Burt 174
liux8@oregonstate.edu
Working with Greg Wilson


Josh Logan
Faculty Research Assistant / Mechanical Engineer
CMTD & OMG
891 SW 30th St, Bldg 221/226, 541-737-7756
loganj@oregonstate.edu
Working with Ben Russell and James Moum


Joshua Love
Academic Wage-Hourly: Faculty Research Assistant
lovejo@oregonstate.edu
Working with JC Creveling


Léo Mahieu is now on the Postdocs page.


June Marion
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
30th & Western Shops Building 221, 541-737-2659
june.marion@oregonstate.edu
Working with Jonathan Nash


Jace  Marquardt
Faculty Research Assistant
30th & Western Shops Building 224, 425-219-8457
jace.marquardt@oregonstate.edu
Working with Jack Barth

 


James McDougal
Laboratory Technician
Wilkinson 007
mcdougaj@oregonstate.edu
Working with Anthony Koppers


Zechariah Meunier
Research Associate
meunierz@oregonstate.edu
Working with James Watson


Dan Miggins
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
Burt 354, 541-737-5206
daniel.miggins@oregonstate.edu


Eric Mortenson  is now on the Postdocs page.


Russell (Russ) Morton
Deputy Shipyard Representative / Lead Inspector, RCRV
russell.morton@oregonstate.edu


Sonaljit Mukherjee
Academic Wage-Salaried: Research Associate
mukherso@oregonstate.edu
Working with Andreas Schmittner


Jesse Muratli
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
Burt 262, 541-737-2467
jesse.muratli@oregonstate.edu


Jasmine Nahorniak
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
MGR/RWB 2nd floor RDESC/RCRV
jasmine.nahorniak@oregonstate.edu
Vita


David Neiman
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I, Senior Technician, OOI
Ocean Observatory Center
541-737-0011 / 541-602-6907
david.neiman@oregonstate.edu

David received a BSc in Chemical Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley in 1984. His previous experience is in application of electron spectroscopic techniques to the physical and chemical characterization of solid surfaces. He holds 2 patents and lists over a dozen scientific publications. As a Senior Technician in Ocean Observatories Initiative at Oregon State University he specializes in creating test plans and procedures for instruments and platforms used in the coastal arrays and assists in integration planning for cross-IO interfaces.


Noah Osman
Faculty Research Assistant
30th & Western Shops Building 227
osmann@oregonstate.edu
Working with Jonathan Nash


June Wilson Padman
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
Office: Burt 346, Lab: Burt 378, 541-737-5227
june.padman@oregonstate.edu


Stuart Pearce
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II, Senior Technician, OOI
Ocean Observatory Center, 541-737-0011
stuart.pearce@oregonstate.edu

Stuart started working with the Ocean Observatories Initiative (OOI) glider group in September 2011. He received his B.S. in Marine Biology from Auburn University in 2005, and an MS in Physical Oceanography with a certificate of Ocean Observing Systems from the Department of Oceanography at Texas A&M University in 2011. His Master's thesis looked at observations of coastal trapped waves on the Texas-Louisiana shelf from Hurricane Andrew. The certificate of Ocean Observing Systems extensively prepared him for operational oceanography including instrument operations, data processing and analysis, and remote sensing. He has worked previously with mooring assembly and oceanographic instrumentation integration. He a Senior Technician for the OOI.


Shaun Pestell
Biological Sciences Research Technician 1
pestells@oregonstate.edu
Working with Erica Fleishman


Kristin Politano
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I, Senior Technician, OOI
politank@oregonstate.edu

Kristin joined Ocean Observatories Initiative (OOI) in November 2018. She received her B.S. in Biology from Florida State University in 2005, and a M.S. in Fisheries and Aquatic Ecology from the University of Florida in 2009. Prior to working for OOI she was a faculty research assistant at OSU’s Hatfield Marine Science Center, conducting research in support of wave energy development, and she also served as lead mooring technician for the OSU branch of PISCO. She has extensive sea-going experience and assists with field operations, instrument programming and maintenance, and mooring refurbishment.


Estefania Quinones Melendez
Academic Wage-Salaried: Research Associate
quinones@oregonstate.edu
Working with Simon de Szoeke


Kristen Rahilly
Director for Education, Center for Oldest Ice Exploration (COLDEX)
Burt 196
rahillyk@oregonstate.edu
Working with Ed Brook


Coquille Onay Rex
Laboratory Technician 1
Research Way Building Rm. 100
coquille.onay@oregonstate.edu
Working at the Oregon State University Marine Geology Repository


Craig Risien
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II, Cyberinfrastructure Project Manager, OOI
Burt 292, 541-737-0011 / 541-737-9682
craig.risien@oregonstate.edu


Hannah Rivera
Administrative Manager, RCRV
Burt 298, 541-737-5114
hannah.rivera@oregonstate.edu
Regional Class Research Vessel project
RCRV on Facebook@rcrv_program on Instagram


Karl Romanowicz is now on the Postdocs page.


Christopher Romsos
Datapresence Systems Engineer, RCRV
Nypro 220, 541-737-7881
chris.romsos@oregonstate.edu


Andrew Ross
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
Office: Burt 346, Lab: Burt 383 & 382, 541-737-5227 / 541-737-5119
andy.ross@oregonstate.edu


Ben Russell
Manager CEOAS Machine and Technical Development Facility
30th & Western Shops Building 221, Room 202, 541-737-2567
ben.russell@oregonstate.edu
Feature Story: Science behind the scenes


Chris Russo
Keck Lab Manager
Burt 256, 541-737-5225
chris.russo@oregonstate.edu
Keck Collaboratory for Plasma Spectrometry


Sean Ryan
Marine Energy Testing Manager
sean.ryan@oregonstate.edu
Working with Dan Hellin


Kris Saathoff
Buyer 3, RCRV
MGR/RWB 2nd floor RDESC/RCRV, 541-737-3280
kristin.saathoff@oregonstate.edu


John Simpkins, III
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I
30th & Western Shops Building 221, Room 202, 541-737-4659
jay.simpkins@oregonstate.edu
Feature Story: Science behind the scenes


Daniel Slobodzian
Lead Engineer for Inspection and Testing, RCRV
RCRV Project Field Office, Houma, LA, 985-850-4373
daniel.slobodzian@oregonstate.edu


Ada Smith is now on the Postdocs page.


Joseph Smith
Research Associate
smithj28@oregonstate.edu
Working with Scott Durski



 

Matthew Sroufe
Faculty Research Assistant
Burt 291, 541-737-9282
matthew.sroufe@oregonstate.edu
Working with Mike Kosro


Val Stanley
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I, Antarctic Core Curator, Marine & Geology Repository
Research Way Building Rm. 100, 541-737-8210
val.stanley@oregonstate.edu
Oregon State University Marine and Geology Repository


Kirsten Steinke
Academic Wage Appointment
steinkki@oregonstate.edu


Jon Sutton
Safety and Compliance Officer
jon.sutton@oregonstate.edu
Working with Dan Hellin


Daryl Swensen
Transition to Operations Coordinator, RCRV
Burt 292, 541-737-0475
swensend@oregonstate.edu


Amanda Thiel is now on the Postdocs page.


Mathew Titus
Research Associate
Strand 348
titusm@math.oregonstate.edu
Working with James Watson


Tricia Torris
Administrative Program Assistant, Center for Oldest Ice Exploration (COLDEX)
torrist@oregonstate.edu
Working with Danielle Whittaker


Celia Trunz is now on the Postdocs page.


Myscon Truong
Temporary Analyst Programmer (until 7/14/2024)
truongmy@oregonstate.edu
Working with Robert Kennedy


Xiaolei Tu
Research Associate
tuxi@oregonstate.edu
Working with Adam Schultz


Christa van IJzendoorn is now on the Postdocs page.


Taylor Viti
Faculty Research Assistant
Weniger 513
vitit@oregonstate.edu
Working with Adam Schultz


Paul Walczak
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II
30th & Western Shops Building 222, 541-737-2704
paul.walczak@oregonstate.edu


Zhenqiang Wang is now on the Postdocs page.


Kylie Welch
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I
Burt 424, 541-737-2741
welchk@oregonstate.edu
Working with Miguel Goñi

 


Jonathan Whitefield
Faculty Research Assistant, Technician, OOI
Ocean Observing Center, 541-737-0011
jonathan.whitefield@oregonstate.edu

Jonathan arrived at the Ocean Observatories Initiative (OOI) in March 2016 after completing his second Master's degree at the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, where he ran model simulations to analyze freshwater content in the Pacific-Arctic nearshore region. He earned his first Master's in 2004 from the University of Otago in New Zealand, and was awarded a BSc (Hons.) from the University of Wales, Bangor in the UK in 2000. He has extensive ship time, working off-shore on many projects and regions, including the tropical waters of Bermuda and Brazil, and the Arctic waters of Russia and Alaska. He currently assists with building, programming and maintaining the OOI moorings, and also works with the coastal glider operations team.


Danielle Whittaker
Managing Director, Center for Oldest Ice Exploration (COLDEX)
Burt 142
whittdan@oregonstate.edu
Working with Ed Brook


Alex Wick
Senior Faculty Research Assistant I, Senior Technician, OOI
Ocean Observing Center, 541-737-0011
alex.wick@oregonstate.edu

Alex received his B.S. in Marine Biology from the University of California Santa Cruz in 2012 where he focused on scientific diving. He joined the Ocean Observatories Initiative (OOI) in 2018 where he brings his technical expertise as a Motor Boat Operator Training Course Instructor, NAUI Dive Master and Private Pilot. He has extensive sea going experience, serving as an Able Seaman and Marine Technician on the R/V Point Sur (Moss Landing Marine Laboratories), R/V Questuary (San Francisco State University) and R/V Oceanus (Oregon State University) on projects that ranged from the Antarctic Peninsula to the Aleutian Islands. Alex currently leads the mechanical assembly and maintenance of the Endurance Array moorings and serves as the Mooring Operations Lead during OOI's biannual regional cruises.


Daniel Wildrick
Faculty Research Assistant
wildricd@oregonstate.edu
Working with Maureen Walczak


Christopher Wingard
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II, Senior Technician, OOI
Ocean Observatory Center, 541-737-0011
chris.wingard@oregonstate.edu

Chris joined the Ocean Observatories Initiative (OOI) program at OSU in September 2010. He holds an M.S. in Ecology and Evolution from the University of Oregon, where he focused on the biology of microbial systems found in the extreme environments of the hypersaline lakes and hot springs of the Northern Great Basin and Yellowstone National Park. Chris has extensive sea-going experience with a wide variety of oceanographic instrumentation systems and the supporting computer hardware and software.


Jeff Wood
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II, Senior Technician, OOI
Ocean Observatory Center, 541-737-8088
woodjef@oregonstate.edu


A. John Woodill
Research Associate
Strand 348B
woodilla@oregonstate.edu
Website: A. John Woodill
Working with James Watson


Chengzhu Xu is now on the Postdocs page.


Varvara (Barbara) Zemskova
Research Associate
barbara.zemskova@oregonstate.edu
Working with Jim Lerczak


Ken Zhao
Research Associate
Burt 434
zhaoke@oregonstate.edu
Working with Jonathan Nash

 


Marnie Jo Zirbel
Senior Faculty Research Assistant II, Senior Technician, OOI
Weniger 520/520A, 541-737-5229
marniejo.zirbel@oregonstate.edu
Marnie Jo Zirbel CV