Degree Programs


Geography

Eliza Amstutz
M.S. student
Geography major
Jenna Tilt advisor
Wilkinson 217
amstutze@oregonstate.edu

 

Bran Black
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Michael Harte advisor
Wilkinson 253
brandi.black@oregonstate.edu

 

Olivia Zane Cameron
(They/Them, She/Her)
M.S. student
Geography major
Kelsey Emard advisor
Strand 331
camerono@oregonstate.edu

 

Valerie Chang
Ph.D. student
Geography major
James Watson advisor
Strand 348
changva@oregonstate.edu

 

Alexandra Caplan
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Aaron Wolf advisor
Wilkinson 215
caplana@oregonstate.edu

 

Segnide Guidimadjegbe
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Larry Becker advisor
Wilkinson 257
guidimas@oregonstate.edu

 

Kyle Hogrefe
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Robert Kennedy advisor
Wilkinson 257
hogrefek@oregonstate.edu

 

Anna Jensen
M.S. student
Geography major
Mark Raleigh advisor
Strand 331
jensanna@oregonstate.edu

 

Virginia Katz
M.S. student
Geography major
James Watson advisor
Strand 347
katzv@oregonstate.edu

 

John Kilbride
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Robert Kennedy advisor
Strand 331
kilbridj@oregonstate.edu

 

Samuel Mawutor
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Larry Becker advisor
Wilkinson 249
mawutors@oregonstate.edu

 

Hannah Mizell
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Jamon Van Den Hoek advisor
Strand 347
mizellh@oregonstate.edu

 

Adriana Nicolay
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Aaron Wolf advisor
Wilkinson 215
nicolaya@oregonstate.edu

 

Keiko Nomura
Ph.D. student
Geography major
James Watson advisor
Strand 347
nomurak@oregonstate.edu

 

Zoe Rosenblum
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Aaron Wolf advisor
Wilkinson 215
rosenblz@oregonstate.edu

 

Alexander C. Smith
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Jamon Van Den Hoek advisor
Strand 347
smitale3@oregonstate.edu

 

Hannah Steele
M.S. student
Geography major
Mark Raleigh advisor
Strand 331
steeleha@oregonstate.edu

 

Fatima Taha
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Mary Santelmann advisor
Strand 362
tahaf@oregonstate.edu

 

Melinda Vickers
M.S. student
Geography major
Julia Jones advisor
Wilkinson 217
vickerme@oregonstate.edu

 

Geology

Suhail Alhejji
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Adam Kent advisor
Wilkinson 147
alhejjsu@oregonstate.edu

 

Abdullah Alohali
M.S. student
Geology major
Shan de Silva advisor
Wilkinson 025
alohalia@oregonstate.edu

 

Kaitlan Angel
(She/They)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Tuba Özkan-Haller advisor
Weniger 551
angelka@oregonstate.edu

 

Sarah Beethe
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Anthony Koppers advisor
Wilkinson 219
beethes@oregonstate.edu

 

Samantha (Sami) Cargill
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
JC Creveling advisor
Wilkinson 123
cargills@oregonstate.edu

 

Peter Davidson
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Anthony Koppers advisor
Dawes 21
davidspe@oregonstate.edu

 

Rebecca Edgell
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Geology major
Peter Ruggiero advisor
Burt 174
edgellr@oregonstate.edu

 

Gabe Gordon
(He/Him)
M.S. student
Geology major
Andrew Meigs advisor
Wilkinson 204
gordogab@oregonstate.edu

 

Michael Harrison
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Roy Haggerty advisor
Wilkinson 145
harrimic@oregonstate.edu

 

Kirill Ivanov
M.S. student
Geology major
John Nabelek advisor
Weniger 509
ivanovk@oregonstate.edu

 

Meghan King
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
JC Creveling advisor
Wilkinson 111
kingm3@oregonstate.edu

 

Meredith Leung
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Peter Ruggiero advisor
Burt 174
leungmer@oregonstate.edu

 

Charles Lewis
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Shan de Silva advisor
Wilkinson 219
lewisc2@oregonstate.edu

 

Logan Lewis
M.S. student
Geology major
Stephen Lancaster advisor
Wilkinson 121
lewisl2@oregonstate.edu

 

Jennifer McLeod
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Adam Kent advisor
Dawes House
mcleodje@oregonstate.edu

 

Lindsey Monito
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Geology major
Joe Stoner advisor
Wilkinson 002
monitol@oregonstate.edu

 

Victoria Moreno
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Pamela Sullivan advisor
Wilkinson 257
morenov@oregonstate.edu

 

Lourdes Moreu
(She/They)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Alyssa Shiel advisor
Burt 120
moreul@oregonstate.edu

 

Sarah Nolan
M.S. student
Geology major
Anne Tréhu advisor
Weniger 551
nolansar@oregonstate.edu

 

Nansen Olson
Ph.D. student
Geology major
John Dilles advisor
Wilkinson 143
olsonn@geo.oregonstate.edu

 

Paige Reynolds
M.S. student
Geology major
Jessica Creveling advisor
Wilkinson 111
reynolpa@oregonstate.edu

 

Marie K. Takach
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Frank Tepley advisor
Dawes House
takachm@oregonstate.edu

 

Schmitty B. Thompson
(They/Them)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
JC Creveling advisor
Wilkinson 111
thomschm@oregonstate.edu

 

Thi Truong
Ph.D. student
Geology major
David Graham advisor
Wilkinson 027
truonthi@oregonstate.edu
Website: Thi Truong

 

Olivia Williams
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Christo Buizert advisor
Wilkinson 105
williao3@oregonstate.edu
Website: Olivia L. Williams

 

Marine Resource Management

Meagan Abele
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Mark Lomeli and Waldo Wakefield advisors
Strand 312
abelem@oregonstate.edu

 

Laura Baker
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Steven Rumrill advisor
Strand 312
bakerlau@oregonstate.edu
Website: Laura Baker

 

Jennifer Michelle Beaullieu
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Lori Cramer advisor
Strand 312
beaullij@oregonstate.edu

 

Joshua Blockstein
(He/Him)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Michael Harte advisor
Strand 312
blockstj@oregonstate.edu

 

Leanne Cohn
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Chris Harvey and Flaxen Conway advisors
Strand 312
cohnl@oregonstate.edu

 

Laurel C. Field
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Kirsten Grorud-Colvert advisor
Strand 312
fieldla@oregonstate.edu

 

Raquel Gilliland
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Maria Kavanaugh advisor
Strand 312
gillilar@oregonstate.edu

 

Aleah Hahn
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Desiree Tullos advisor
Strand 312
hahnale@oregonstate.edu

 

Abigail (Abby) Knipp
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Kelsey Emard advisor
Strand 312
knippa@oregonstate.edu

 

Annie Merrill
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Brett Dumbauld advisor
Strand 312
merrilju@oregonstate.edu

 

Hannah Nolan
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Tracy Crews advisor
Strand 312
nolanh@oregonstate.edu

 

Carly Ringer
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Meagan Wengrove advisor
Strand 312
ringerc@oregonstate.edu

 

Grace Roa
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
John Chapman advisor
Strand 312
roag@oregonstate.edu

 

Rebecca Smoak
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Maria Kavanaugh advisor
Strand 312
smoakr@oregonstate.edu
Website: Kavanaugh Lab

 

Rhianna Thurber
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Flaxen Conway and Andy Szabo advisors
Strand 312
thurberr@oregonstate.edu

 

Laura Vary
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Lorenzo Ciannelli advisor
Strand 312
varyl@oregonstate.edu
Research Interests
I am interested in the stories that larval fish can tell researchers and managers about population resilience to climate change. I focus my work on Bering Sea groundfishes with the hopes of understanding the biological factors that contribute to species' vulnerability in our changing world.

 

Katrina Vickery
(They/Them, She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Shawn Rowe advisor
Strand 312
vickeryk@oregonstate.edu

 

Leonard (Austin) Williams
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Brett Dumbauld advisor
Strand 312
willleon@oregonstate.edu

 

Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences

Jack Aldrich
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Greg Wilson advisor
Burt 174
aldricja@oregonstate.edu

 

Lila Ardor Bellucci
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Andrew Thurber advisor
Burt 120
ardorbel@oregonstate.edu

 

Ian Black
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student and Faculty Research Assistant
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Clare Reimers and Maria Kavanaugh advisors
Weniger 551
blackia@oregonstate.edu
Website: Ian Black

 

Peter Bright
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Rene Boiteau advisor
Burt 326
brightpe@oregonstate.edu

 

Aleesa Bryant
M.S. student
Laurie Juranek and Miguel Goñi advisors
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Burt 430
bryanale@oregonstate.edu

 

Peter Chace
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Clare Reimers advisor
Weniger 545
chacep@oregonstate.edu

 

Adrienne Chan
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Clare Reimers advisor
Weniger 537
chanad@oregonstate.edu

 

Kai-Fu Chang
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Kipp Shearman advisor
Burt 426
chankaif@oregonstate.edu

 

Yi-Wei Chen
M.S student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Larry O'Neill advisor
Burt 324
chenyiwe@oregonstate.edu

 

Natasha Christman
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Byron Crump advisor
Weniger 537
christmn@oregonstate.edu

 

Alyson Churchill
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Joe Stoner & Mo Walczak advisors
Wilkinson 002
churcaly@oregonstate.edu

 

Nicole Rose Coffey
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Rene Boiteau advisor
Burt 430
coffeyni@oregonstate.edu

 

Margaret Conley
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jim Lerczak advisor
Burt 436
conlemar@oregonstate.edu

 

Haley Cynar
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Laurie Juranek advisor
Burt 120
cynarh@oregonstate.edu

 

Jonas Donnenfield
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Maureen Walczak and Alan Mix advisors
Burt 102
donnenfj@oregonstate.edu

 

Megan Duncan
M.S student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Justin Wettstein advisor
Burt 320
duncameg@oregonstate.edu

 

Deepa Dwyer
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Joe Stoner advisor
Wilkinson 002
shahde@oregonstate.edu
Website: Deepa Dwyer at P-Mag Lab

 

Jon Edwards
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Ed Brook advisor
Wilkinson 007
 jon.edwards@oregonstate.edu

 

Mia El-Khazen
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Andreas Schmittner advisor
Burt 120
elkhazem@oregonstate.edu

 

Nathaniel Fillman
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Andreas Schmittner advisor
Burt 324
fillmann@oregonstate.edu

 

Layla Ghazi
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Julie Pett-Ridge advisor
Burt 120
Vita
Science Twitter: @biogeoghazi
LinkedIn: Layla Ghazi
ghazil@oregonstate.edu

 

Anna Glueder
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Alan Mix advisor
Burt 120
gluedera@oregonstate.edu

 

Natasha Griffin
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Byron Crump advisor
Weniger 537
grifnata@oregonstate.edu

 

Emily Hayden
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Larry O'Neill advisor
Burt 320
haydenem@oregonstate.edu

 

Dean Henze
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Simon de Szoeke advisor
Burt 324
henzede@oregonstate.edu

 

Kendra Herweck
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Maria Kavanaugh and Yvette Spitz advisors
Burt 106
herweckk@oregonstate.edu

 

Jaquan High
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
George Waldbusser advisor
Burt 236
highj@oregonstate.edu

 

Rebecca Howard
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Lorenzo Ciannelli advisor
Burt 232
howardre@oregonstate.edu
Website: Rebecca A. Howard

 

Fucent Hsu
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jonathan Nash and Kipp Shearman advisors
Burt 426
hsufu@oregonstate.edu

 

Anna Hughes
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Clare Reimers advisor
Weniger 567
hugheann@oregonstate.edu

 

Aliya Jamil
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Maria Kavanaugh advisor
Burt 106
jamila@oregonstate.edu

 

Mackenzie Jewell
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jenny Hutchings advisor
Burt 328
jewellm@oregonstate.edu

 

Rachel Kaplan
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Kim Bernard advisor
Wilkinson 213
kaplarac@oregonstate.edu

 

Nathan Keane
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Greg Wilson advisor
Burt 174
keanen@oregonstate.edu

 

Matthew Koszuta
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Nick Siler advisor
Burt 324
koszutam@oregonstate.edu

 

Anne Krone
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Byron Crump advisor
Weniger 537
kronea@oregonstate.edu

 

M. Kelsey Lane
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jennifer Fehrenbacher advisor
Burt 120
lanemary@oregonstate.edu
Website: M. Kelsey Lane

 

Ara Lee
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Brodie Pearson advisor
Burt 322
leear@oregonstate.edu

 

Chih-Lun Liu
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Bill Smyth advisor
Burt 324
liuchihl@oregonstate.edu

 

Andrew Mandovi
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Nick Siler advisor
Burt 324
mandovia@oregonstate.edu

 

Kaden Martin
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Christo Buizert advisor
Wilkinson 105
martkade@oregonstate.edu

 

Grace Meyer
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jennifer Fehrenbacher and Alan Mix advisors
Burt 326
meyergr@oregonstate.edu

 

Tristen Myers
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
George Waldbusser advisor
Burt 236A
myerstr@oregonstate.edu

 

Kyle Niezgoda
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
David Noone advisor
Burt 324
niezgodk@oregonstate.edu

 

Andrea Nodal
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Kim Bernard advisor
Burt 248
nodala@oregonstate.edu

 

Julia Peterson
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Ed Brook advisor
Wilkinson 007
peterju2@oregonstate.edu

 

Estefania Quinones Melendez
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Simon de Szoeke advisor
Burt 324
quinones@oregonstate.edu

 

Hannah Reinhard
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Pieter-Ewald Share advisor
Weniger 509
reinhhan@oregonstate.edu

 

Benjamin (Ben) Riddell-Young
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Ed Brook advisor
Wilkinson 008
riddellb@oregonstate.edu

 

Anna Simpson
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jonathan Nash advisor
Burt 322
simpanna@oregonstate.edu

 

Kirsten Steinke
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Kim Bernard advisor
Burt 248
steinkki@oregonstate.edu
Website: Kirsten Steinke

 

Erin Tully
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
George Waldbusser advisor
Burt 236
tullye@oregonstate.edu

 

Saray Valdez-Hernandez
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Peter Clark advisor
Wilkinson 105
valdezhs@oregonstate.edu

 

Cassidy Wagner
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Brodie Pearson advisor
Burt 322
wagncass@oregonstate.edu

 

Daniel Watkins
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jenny Hutchings advisor
Burt 328
watkdani@oregonstate.edu
Feature Story: Freeze frame: A student’s snapshot of the MOSAiC expedition

 

Kaelan Weiss
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jonathan Nash advisor
Burt 326
weisskae@oregonstate.edu

 

Jennifer Wong-Ala
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Lorenzo Ciannelli advisor
Burt 232
wongalaj@oregonstate.edu
Website: Jennifer A.T.K. Wong-Ala

 

Water Resources

Dean Anderson
M.S. student
Water Resources Science major
Mary Santelmann and Rebecca Flitcroft advisors
Strand 362
anderdea@oregonstate.edu

 

Lena Bixby
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Water Resources Science major
Pamela Sullivan advisor
Wilkinson 257
bixbyl@oregonstate.edu

 

Leah Cogan
M.S. student
Water Resources Policy and Management major
Hannah Gosnell advisor
Strand 362
coganl@oregonstate.edu

 

Laura E. Duffy
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Water Resources Policy and Management major
Hannah Gosnell advisor
Wilkinson 213
duffyla@oregonstate.edu

 

Zachary Field
M.S. student
Water Resources Policy and Management major
Jamon Van Den Hoek advisor
Strand 347
fieldz@oregonstate.edu

 

Maria Jose Iglesias Thome
M.S. student
Water Resources Science major
Julia Jones and Jenna Tilt advisors
Wilkinson 213
iglesiam@oregonstate.edu

 

Keira Johnson
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Water Resources Science major
Pam Sullivan advisor
johnkeir@oregonstate.edu

 

Kari Lanphier
M.S. student
Water Resources Science major
Pamela Sullivan advisor
Wilkinson 251
lanphiek@oregonstate.edu

 

Idrees Malyar
Ph.D. student
Water Resources Science
Aaron Wolf advisor
Strand 362
malyari@oregonstate.edu

 

Josiah J. Shaver
(He/Him)
M.S. student
Water Resources Policy & Management major
Aaron Wolf advisor
shaverj@oregonstate.edu
LinkedIn: Josiah J. Shaver

 

Ashley Voisinet
M.S. student
Water Resources Policy and Management major
Mary Santelmann advisor
Strand 362
voisinea@oregonstate.edu

 

Ian Whidden
M.S. student
Water Resources Science major
Julia Jones advisor
Wilkinson 221
whiddeia@oregonstate.edu

 

Charles Wright
M.S. student
Water Resources Science major
Julia Jones advisor
Wilkinson 221
wrighch6@oregonstate.edu

 

Other

Theodore Bambakidis
Ph.D. student
Microbiology major
Byron Crump advisor
Weniger 537
bambakit@oregonstate.edu

 

Jessica Buser-Young
Ph.D. student
Microbiology major
Rick Colwell advisor
(Not a CEOAS student, but working in Colwell Geomicrobiology Lab)
Weniger 501
buserj@oregonstate.edu

 

Robert (Jake) Jacobs
Ph.D. student
Physics major
Larry O'Neill advisor
Burt 328
jacobrob@oregonstate.edu

 

Paige Hovenga
Ph.D. student
Civil Engineering major
Peter Ruggiero advisor
Burt 174
hovengap@oregonstate.edu

 

Kelly Shannon
M.S. student
Microbiology major
Rick Colwell advisor
(Not a CEOAS student, but working in Colwell Geomicrobiology Lab)
Weniger 501