Kali Abel
Ph.D. student
Geography major
David Wrathall advisor
Strand 348
abelka@oregonstate.edu
  Nurmalia Adroli
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Michael Harte advisor
Strand 312
adrolin@oregonstate.edu
  Jack Aldrich
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Greg Wilson advisor
Burt 122
aldricja@oregonstate.edu
Suhail Alhejji
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Adam Kent advisor
Wilkinson 147
alhejjsu@oregonstate.edu
  Abdullah Alohali
M.S. student
Geology major
Shan de Silva advisor
Wilkinson 025
alohalia@oregonstate.edu
  Kaitlan Angel
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Adam Schultz advisor
Weniger 551
angelka@oregonstate.edu
Lila Ardor Bellucci
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Andrew Thurber advisor
Burt 120
ardorbel@oregonstate.edu
Laura Baker
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Steven Rumrill advisor
Strand 312
bakerlau@oregonstate.edu
  Theodore Bambakidis
Ph.D. student
Microbiology major
Byron Crump advisor
Weniger 537
bambakit@oregonstate.edu
  Jennifer Beaulieu
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Lori Cramer advisor
Strand 312
beaullij@oregonstate.edu
Heather Bervid
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Andrew Meigs advisor
Wilkinson 204
bervidh@oregonstate.edu
  Bran Black
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Michael Harte advisor
Wilkinson 253
brandi.black@oregonstate.edu
  Aleesa Bryant
M.S. student
Laurie Juranek and Miguel Goñi advisors
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Burt 430
bryanale@oregonstate.edu
Jessica Buser-Young
Ph.D. student
Microbiology major
Rick Colwell advisor
(Not a CEOAS student, but working in Colwell Geomicrobiology Lab)
Weniger 501
buserj@oregonstate.edu
Michelle Campbell
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
John Dilles advisor
campbemi@oregonstate.edu
Alexandra Caplan
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Aaron Wolf advisor
Wilkinson 215
caplana@oregonstate.edu
Samantha Cargill
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Andrew Meigs advisor
Wilkinson 204
cargills@oregonstate.edu
  Peter Chace
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Clare Reimers advisor
Weniger 545
chacep@oregonstate.edu
  Adrienne Chan
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Clare Reimers advisor
Weniger 537
chanad@oregonstate.edu
  Yi-Wei Chen
M.S student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Larry O'Neill advisor
Burt 324
chenyiwe@oregonstate.edu
  Nilza Chodon
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Kipp Shearman advisor
Burt 426
chodonn@oregonstate.edu
  Natasha Christman
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Byron Crump advisor
Weniger 537
christmn@oregonstate.edu
  Alyson Churchill
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Joe Stoner & Mo Walczak advisors
Wilkinson 002
churcaly@oregonstate.edu
Nicole Coffey
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Rene Boiteau advisor
Burt 430
coffeyni@oregonstate.edu
Leah Cogan
M.S. student
Water Resources Policy and Management major
Hannah Gosnell advisor
Strand 362
coganl@oregonstate.edu
  Nadia Cohen
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jonathan Nash advisor
Burt 426
cohenna@oregonstate.edu
Margaret Conley
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jim Lerczak advisor
Burt 436
conlemar@oregonstate.edu
  Megan Considine
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Steven Rumrill
Strand 312
considim@oregonstate.edu
Kylene Cooley
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jim Lerczak and Melanie Fewings
Burt 322
cooleyky@oregonstate.edu
  Leah Cromer
M.S. student
Geography major
Julia Jones advisor
Wilkinson 217
cromerl@oregonstate.edu
Haley Cynar
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Laurie Juranek advisor
Burt 120
cynarh@oregonstate.edu
Peter Davidson
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Anthony Koppers advisor
Dawes 21
davidspe@oregonstate.edu
  John Dickens
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Susanne Brander advisor
Strand 312
dickenjo@oregonstate.edu
Deepa Dwyer
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Joe Stoner advisor
Wilkinson 002
shahde@oregonstate.edu
Website: Deepa Dwyer at P-Mag Lab
  Rebecca Edgell
M.S. student
Geology major
Peter Ruggiero advisor
Burt 297
edgellr@oregonstate.edu
Jon Edwards
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Ed Brook advisor
Wilkinson 007
 jon.edwards@oregonstate.edu
Jenna Epifanio
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Ed Brook advisor
Wilkinson 025
epifanij@oregonstate.edu
Website: Jenna Epifanio on Twitter
Nicole (Nicki) Feiten
M.S. student
Water Resources Science major
Mary Santelmann advisor
Strand 362
feitenn@oregonstate.edu
  Laurel Field
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Kirsten Grorud-Colvert and Jane Lubchenco advisors
Strand 312
fieldla@oregonstate.edu
  Nathaniel Fillman
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Andreas Schmittner advisor
Burt 324
fillmann@oregonstate.edu
Theresa Fritz-Endres
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jennifer Fehrenbacher advisor
Burt 120
fritzent@oregonstate.edu
Website: foraminarium on Instagram
Layla Ghazi
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Julie Pett-Ridge advisor
Burt 120
Vita
Science Twitter: @biogeoghazi
LinkedIn: Layla Ghazi
ghazil@oregonstate.edu
Anna Glueder
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Alan Mix advisor
Burt 120
gluedera@oregonstate.edu
Gabriel Gordon
(He/Him)
M.S. student
Geology major
Andrew Meigs advisor
Wilinson 204
gordogab@oregonstate.edu
  Natasha Griffin
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Byron Crump advisor
Weniger 537
grifnata@oregonstate.edu
  Segnide Guidimadjegbe
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Larry Becker advisor
Wilkinson 257
guidimas@oregonstate.edu
Nicolás X. (Nico) Gómez Andújar
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
James Watson advisor
Strand 312
gomezann@oregonstate.edu 
Cedric Hagen
Ph.D. student
Geology major
JC Creveling advisor
Wilkinson 111
hagence@oregonstate.edu
Vita
Website: Cedric J. Hagen
Ashley Hann
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Kim Bernard advisor
Strand 312
hanna@oregonstate.edu
Toby Harbison
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Sarah Henkel advisor
Strand 312
harbisot@oregonstate.edu
Michael Harrison
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Roy Haggerty advisor
Wilkinson 145
harrimic@oregonstate.edu
  Emily Hayden
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Melanie Fewings advisor
Burt 322
haydenem@oregonstate.edu
Dean Henze
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Simon de Szoeke advisor
Burt 324
henzede@oregonstate.edu
  Kyle Hogrefe
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Hannah Gosnell advisor
Wilkinson 257
hogrefek@oregonstate.edu
  Paige Hovenga
Ph.D. student
Civil Engineering major
Peter Ruggiero advisor
Burt 297
hovengap@oregonstate.edu
Rebecca Howard
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Lorenzo Ciannelli advisor
Burt 232
howardre@oregonstate.edu
Website: Rebecca A. Howard
  Fucent Hsu
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jonathan Nash and Kipp Shearman advisors
Burt 426
hsufu@oregonstate.edu
Aliya Jamil
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Maria Kavanaugh advisor
Weniger 551
jamila@oregonstate.edu
Mackenzie Jewell
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jenny Hutchings advisor
Burt 328
jewellm@oregonstate.edu
Steven Mana'oakamai Johnson
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Geography major
James Watson advisor
Strand 348
johnstev@oregonstate.edu
Website: Steven Mana'oakamai Johnson
Rachel Kaplan
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Kim Bernard and Leigh Torres advisors
Wilkinson 213
kaplarac@oregonstate.edu
  Virginia Katz
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Bo Zhao advisor
Strand 347
katzv@oregonstate.edu
Nathan Keane
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Greg Wilson advisor
Rogers 334
keanen@oregonstate.edu
  John Kilbride
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Robert Kennedy advisor
Strand 331
kilbridj@oregonstate.edu
Meghan King
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
JC Creveling advisor
Wilkinson 111
kingm3@oregonstate.edu
Matthew Koszuta
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Nick Siler advisor
Burt 324
koszutam@oregonstate.edu
Alisa Kotash
(They/Them)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Frank Tepley advisor
Wilkinson 147
kotasha@oregonstate.edu
Ellen Lamont
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Andrew Meigs advisor
Wilkinson 204
lamonte@oregonstate.edu
M. Kelsey Lane
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jennifer Fehrenbacher advisor
Burt 120
lanemary@oregonstate.edu
Website: M. Kelsey Lane
  Sarah Lapinski
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Shan de Silva advisor
Wilkinson 219
lapinssa@oregonstate.edu
Ara Lee
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Brodie Pearson advisor
Burt 322
leear@oregonstate.edu
Meredith Leung
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Peter Ruggiero advisor
Burt 297
leungmer@oregonstate.edu
Charles Lewis
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Shan de Silva advisor
Wilkinson 219
lewisc2@oregonstate.edu
  Logan Lewis
M.S. student
Geology major
Stephen Lancaster advisor
Wilkinson 121
lewisl2@oregonstate.edu
Chuan Li
Ph.D. student
Civil Engineering major
Burt 122
lic@oregonstate.edu
  Chih-Lun Liu
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Bill Smyth advisor
Burt 324
liuchihl@oregonstate.edu
Jordan Lubbers
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Adam Kent advisor
Dawes
lubbersj@oregonstate.edu
Website: Jordan Lubbers
  Andrew Mandovi
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Nick Siler advisor
Burt 324
mandovia@oregonstate.edu
  Kaden Martin
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Christo Buizert advisor
Wilkinson 123
martkade@oregonstate.edu
Elise Mazur
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Geography major
Jamon Van Den Hoek advisor
Strand 347
mazurel@oregonstate.edu
  Jennifer McLeod
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Adam Kent advisor
Wilkinson 022
mcleodje@oregonstate.edu
Julianne Merrill
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Brett Dumbauld advisor
Strand 312
merrilju@oregonstate.edu
  Hannah Mizell
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Jamon Van Den Hoek advisor
Strand 347
mizellh@oregonstate.edu
Lindsey Monito
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Geology major
Joe Stoner advisor
Wilkinson 002
monitol@oregonstate.edu
  Victoria Moreno
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Pamela Sullivan advisor
Wilkinson 213
morenov@oregonstate.edu
  Giancarlo Helar Moron Correa
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Lorenzo Ciannelli advisor
Burt 232
moroncog@oregonstate.edu
Tristen Myers
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
George Waldbusser advisor
Burt 236A
myerstr@oregonstate.edu
  Oyinbarakemi Ndiomu
M.S. student
Geography major
Larry Becker advisor
Wilkinson 249
ndiomuo@oregonstate.edu
Michelle Nguyen
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
George Waldbusser advisor
Burt 236A
nguyemi3@oregonstate.edu
Kyle Niezgoda
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
David Noone advisor
Burt 324
niezgodk@oregonstate.edu
  Hannah Nolan
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Tracy Crews advisor
Strand 312
nolanh@oregonstate.edu
  Sarah Nolan
M.S. student
Geology major
Anne Tréhu advisor
Weniger 551
nolansar@oregonstate.edu
  Keiko Nomura
Ph.D. student
Geography major
James Watson advisor
Strand 347
nomurak@oregonstate.edu
Nansen Olson
Ph.D. student
Geology major
John Dilles advisor
Wilkinson 143
olsonn@geo.oregonstate.edu
  Rosemary Pazdral
Ph.D. student
Water Resources Science major
Mary Santelmann advisor
Strand 362
pazdralr@oregonstate.edu
Erin Peck
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Rob Wheatcroft advisor
Burt 124
peckerin@oregonstate.edu
Ashley Peiffer
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Michael Harte advisor
Strand 312
peiffera@oregonstate.edu
Research Interests
I am interested in how U.S-based international development organizations adapt to unprecedented pressures, such as the COVID-19 pandemic. For my Master's research, I am working with a non-profit located in the Horn of Africa region to determine what challenges the pandemic has posed to engaging community members through face-to-face interactions.
Education
B.S. in Marine Science-Biology at The University of Tampa, 2017
  Julia Peterson
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Ed Brook advisor
Wilkinson 007
peterju2@oregonstate.edu
  Estefania Quinones Melendez
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Simon de Szoeke advisor
Burt 324
quinones@oregonstate.edu
Benjamin (Ben) Riddell-Young
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Ed Brook advisor
Wilkinson 008
riddellb@oregonstate.edu
Benjamin Roberts-Pierel
(He/Him)
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Robert Kennedy advisor
Strand 331
robertsb@oregonstate.edu
  Stefan Rose
M.S. student
Geography major
David Wrathall advisor
Strand 348
roseste@oregonstate.edu
Jon Sanfilippo
Ph.D. student
Water Resources Engineering major
Stephen Lancaster advisor
Wilkinson 013
sanfilij@geo.oregonstate.edu
Keaton Schrank
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Geography major
Mary Santelmann advisor
Wilkinson 249
schrankk@oregonstate.edu
Michael Sepp
M.S. student
Geology major
John Dilles advisor
Dawes 23
seppm@oregonstate.edu
Satish Prasad Serchan
Ph.D. student
Water Resources Science major
Steve Wondzell & Roy Haggerty advisors
Wilkinson 145
serchans@oregonstate.edu
Kelly Shannon
M.S. student
Microbiology major
Rick Colwell advisor
(Not a CEOAS student, but working in Colwell Geomicrobiology Lab)
Weniger 501
  Graham Shaw
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Steven Dundas advisor
Strand 312
shawgr@oregonstate.edu
Anna Simpson
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jonathan Nash advisor
Burt 322
simpanna@oregonstate.edu
Alexander C. Smith
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Jamon Van Den Hoek advisor
Strand 347
smitale3@oregonstate.edu
Rebecca Smoak
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Maria Kavanaugh advisor
Strand 312
smoakr@oregonstate.edu
Website: Kavanaugh Lab
  Hannah Steele
M.S. student
Geography major
Mark Raleigh advisor
Strand 331
steeleha@oregonstate.edu
Kirsten Steinke
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Kim Bernard advisor
Burt 228
steinkki@oregonstate.edu
Website: Kirsten Steinke
Linus Stoltz
(He/Him)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Kipp Shearman and Francis Chan advisors
Strand 312
stoltzl@oregonstate.edu
Website: F.I.S.H.
  Fatima Taha
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Mary Santelmann advisor
Strand 362
tahaf@oregonstate.edu
Marie Takach
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Frank Tepley advisor
Wilkinson 119
takachm@oregonstate.edu
  Schmitty Thompson
Ph.D. student
Geology major
JC Creveling advisor
Wilkinson 111
thomschm@oregonstate.edu
Rhianna Thurber
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Flaxen Conway and Andy Szabo advisors
Strand 312
thurberr@oregonstate.edu
  Thi Truong
Ph.D. student
Geology major
David Graham advisor
Wilkinson 027
truonthi@oregonstate.edu
Website: Thi Truong
Erin Tully
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
George Waldbusser advisor
Burt 236
tullye@oregonstate.edu
Saray Valdez-Hernandez
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Peter Clark advisor
Wilkinson 121
valdezhs@oregonstate.edu
Laura Vary
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Lorenzo Ciannelli advisor
Strand 312
varyl@oregonstate.edu
Research Interests
I am interested in the stories that larval fish can tell researchers and managers about population resilience to climate change. I focus my work on Bering Sea groundfishes with the hopes of understanding the biological factors that contribute to species' vulnerability in our changing world.  
  Melinda Vickers
M.S. student
Geography major
Julia Jones advisor
Wilinson 217
vickerme@oregonstate.edu
Kellie Wall
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Anita Grunder advisor
Dawes 22
wallk@oregonstate.edu
Daniel Watkins
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Jenny Hutchings advisor
Burt 328
watkdani@oregonstate.edu
Feature Story: Freeze frame: A student’s snapshot of the MOSAiC expedition
Sophia Wensman
Ph.D. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Alyssa Shiel advisor
Burt 120
wensmans@oregonstate.edu
  Leonard (Austin) Williams
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Brett Dumbauld advisor
Strand 312
willleon@oregonstate.edu
Olivia Williams
(She/Her)
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Christo Buizert advisor
Wilkinson 123
williao3@oregonstate.edu
Website: Olivia L. Williams
Johna Winters
M.S. student
Marine Resource Management major
Emily Shroyer advisor
Strand 312
wintejoh@oregonstate.edu
  Tsion Woge
M.S. student
Water Resources Policy and Management major
Mary Santelmann advisor
Strand 362
woget@oregonstate.edu
Jennifer Wong-Ala
(She/Her)
M.S. student
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences major
Lorenzo Ciannelli advisor
Burt 232
wongalaj@oregonstate.edu
Website: Jennifer A.T.K. Wong-Ala
  Katherine Worms
Ph.D. student
Geology major
Eric Kirby advisor
Wilkinson 204
wormsk@oregonstate.edu
  Chunxue (Ciccy) Xu
Ph.D. student
Geography major
Bo Zhao advisor
Strand 348
xuch@oregonstate.edu