Oregon State University

College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences

Major, National Faculty Awards, 2011–2012

Angel White

July 11, 2012

CEOAS faculty are regularly recognized by national associations and foundations for their leadership and contributions. Faculty members who were awarded major national honors in the 2011–2012 academic year are listed below.

Mark Abbott, Dean and Professor
2011 Jim Gray eScience Award, Microsoft Research

The award is presented annually to a nationally recognized researcher who has made outstanding contributions to data-intensive computing.

Ed Brook, Professor
2011 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

AAAS annually elects fellows whose "efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished." Brook is a leading international expert on the study of ice cores to look at the Earth's climatic history.

Peter Clark, Professor
2012 Guggenheim Fellow in Earth Sciences

Peter Clark, an Oregon State University scientist who is known internationally for his work on climate history, received a prestigious fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. Clark is the lone recipient nationally in the category of Earth Sciences. Most of the Guggenheim fellows are in humanities and social science fields. During his time as a Guggenheim Fellow, Peter Clark plans to further develop a recent interest in ice sheet-ocean interactions and their influence on climate and the carbon cycle.

Martin Fisk, Professor
2011–12 Fulbright Fellowship

Fisk will be conducting research at the University of Bergen in Bergen, Norway. Fulbright participants are chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential, with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Jim Moum, Professor
2012 Fellow, American Geophysical Union

To be elected a Fellow of AGU is a special tribute for those who have made exceptional scientific contributions. Nominated Fellows must have attained acknowledged eminence in the Earth and space sciences. This designation is conferred upon not more than 0.1% of all AGU members in any given year. Moum is recognized for his work in small-scale ocean physics and mixing.

Peter Clark

Angelicque White, Assistant Professor
2012 Sloane Research Fellow

Fellowships from the Alfred P. Sloane Foundation are given to early-career scientists and scholars identified as rising stars and the next generation of scientific leaders. This year, the foundation expanded to include ocean sciences and awarded eight fellowships in that field, including the one to White.

Dawn Wright, Professor
2012 Presidential Achievement Award, Association of American Geographers

The award recognizes individuals who have made long-standing and distinguished contributions to the discipline of geography. Wright is a nationally recognized expert in geographic information systems.

See more Feature Stories